Founded in 2014, Inference: International Review of Science is an independent quarterly review of the sciences. Inference is dedicated to publishing reasoned, informed, and insightful critical essays that reflect the true diversity of thought across the fields that comprise the journal’s remit, from Anthropology to Zoology.

Inference seeks to publish a wide range of authors, from established to emerging voices, regardless of geography, and will publish essays in languages other than English, wherever possible.

Although the editors have every intention of appealing to experts for advice, Inference is not a peer-reviewed journal.

We have no ideological, political, or religious agendas whatsoever.


Steven Wheeler
Executive Editor

Sheldon Lee Glashow
Editor at Large

David Berlinski
Contributing Editor

Hortense Marcelin
Managing Editor

Hélène Cambour
Marketing Director

Jean-Michel Gruet

Board of Editors

Sheldon Lee Glashow
Nobel Laureate in Physics, Metcalf Professor of Mathematics and Physics, Emeritus, at Boston University, and Higgins Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at Harvard University.

Barry Barish
Nobel Laureate in Physics, Linde Professor, Emeritus, at the California Institute of Technology. Member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

Noam Chomsky
Institute Professor and Professor of Linguistics, Emeritus, at MIT. Member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

George Ellis
Fellow of the Royal Society and Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Complex Systems in the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics at the University of Cape Town.

Édouard Brézin
Professor Emeritus at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie in Paris, Honorary Professor at the Ecole Polytechnique, member and former President of the Académie des Sciences. Awarded the Dirac Medal in 2011.

Arthur Jaffe
L. T. Clay Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Science at Harvard University. Member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

Richard Roberts
Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine. Fellow of the Royal Society.

Andrew Chi-Chih Yao
Member of the U.S. National Academy of Science. Member of the Chinese Academy of Science. Professor and the Dean of Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences at Tsinghua University.

Richard Lindzen
Alfred P. Sloan Emeritus Professor of Meteorology at MIT. Member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

David Gelernter
Professor of Computer Science at Yale. Member of the US National Council of the Arts.

Juan Uriagereka
Professor of Linguistics, University of Maryland.